is changing

Try our beta site and let us know what you think

All London Green Grid

The All London Green Grid (ALGG) is a policy framework to promote the design and delivery of ‘green infrastructure’ across London.  Green infrastructure can be defined as:

A network of green spaces - and features such as street trees and green roofs - that is planned, designed and managed to provide a range of benefits, including:  recreation and amenity, healthy living, reducing  flooding, improving air quality, cooling the urban environment, encouraging walking and cycling, and enhancing biodiversity and ecological resilience.

The policy framework comprises London Plan policies on green infrastructure and urban greening - and those relating to open spaces, biodiversity, trees & woodland, and river corridors - plus  the All London Green Grid Supplementary Planning Guidance and a series of ALGG Area Frameworks.

The ALGG aims to:

  • Increase access to open space.
  • Conserve landscapes and the natural environment and increase access to nature.
  • Adapt the city to the impacts of climate change.
  • Make sustainable travel connections and promote cycling and walking.
  • Encourage healthy living.
  • Promote sustainable food growing.
  • Enhance visitor destinations and boots the visitor economy.
  • Promote green skills and sustainable approaches to design, management and maintenance.

ALGG Area Frameworks

Eleven Area Frameworks have been produced which expand on the strategic opportunities set out in the ALGG Supplementary Planning Guidance. These have been produced by All London Green Grid Area Groups.


PDF version of the map

  1. They identify projects that would deliver London’s network of green infrastructure.  They do this by:
  2. Establishing a comprehensive baseline understanding of each area.
  3. Defining a vision, area objectives and strategic opportunities for each area.
  4. Identifying the specific projects that can improve and enhance green infrastructure in each area.
  5. Encouraging partnership working and a more joined up approach to allocating resources .

The eleven ALGG areas covered by these frameworks are:

  • Lee Valley and Finchley Ridge;
  • River Roding and Epping Forest;
  • Thames Chase, Beam, Ingrebourne;
  • River Cray and Southern Marshes;
  • South East London Green Chain Plus;
  • London’s Downlands;
  • Wandle Valley;
  • The Arcadian Thames;
  • River Colne and Crane;
  • Brent Valley and Barnet Plateau;
  • Central London

Related Documents

AF01 Lee Valley and Finchley Ridge.pdf 6.99 MB

AF02 River Roding and Epping Forest.pdf 4.23 MB

AF03 Thames Chase, Beam, Ingrebourne.pdf 4.2 MB

AF05 River Cray and Southern Marshes.pdf 4.77 MB

AF06 South East London Green Chain Plus.pdf 4.51 MB

AF07 London's Downlands.pdf 4.87 MB

AF08 Wandle Valley_2014update.pdf 39.88 MB

AF09 The Arcadian Thames.pdf 4.44 MB

AF10 River Colne and Crane.pdf 4.94 MB

AF11 Brent Valley and Barnet Plateau.pdf 4.13 MB

AF12 Central London.pdf 11.32 MB